Home
Register
Recent
Categories
Authors
Series
Titles
Completed
Help
Search
Betas
Links
Find-A-Fic
Spuffy Twitter
LiveJournal
Top 10
Contact Us


RSS

Chit-Chat

squawks
05/18/17 04:16 am
pj! I remember wishing one of your stories would be finished seriously about a decade ago. Amazing. I just tried an old password I used to use and amazingly got in too. Memories!
pj
03/20/17 01:20 am
10 yrs later, i finally rem my username and password. Pari, you rock. Hope you are well.
Rabbit_moon1
12/23/16 01:12 pm
I donate every month. Please donate to keep this site up!
AudryDaluz1
10/06/16 08:34 am
Great post.
Chrissel
08/31/16 03:45 pm
And anyone else who loves this site, it's worth mentioning there's a nifty little "Donate" option just below the shout box here! ;)
Chrissel
08/31/16 03:43 pm
Just wanted to take a moment to thank Pari and all the mods for maintaining such a great site!

Support


Author's Corner

Reviewer: charisse Anonymous Date: 01/24/2011 - 03:14 pm Title: suzyluvsspike

Plagiarism is wrong. Always.

I am so convinced of that truth that's it's difficult for me to discuss--the sky is blue (or grey); water is wet; plagiarism is wrong. There's nothing to add or debate.

Your efforts in this instance, though, and the positive responses from the community are another matter. It's a paradox, but for communities to work, it's not enough for members to be kind to each other. They also need to hold each other accountable--whether it's don't post Bangel on a Spuffy site, or don't steal someone else's work.

This time, the job fell to you. I can't imagine that it was a pleasant experience (mentally or emotionally), but you put your time and effort into making the situation right. You really helped make this a better place for all of us.

Reviewer: spikeluv84 Anonymous Date: 01/14/2008 - 02:00 am Title: suzyluvsspike

plagiarism makes me sick. what makes people think that they'll get away with this crap? and i was actually interested in that story too! i swear, these people ruin it for the rest of us. glad to be here btw, lol. love it!

Reviewer: theladyofspike Anonymous Date: 03/22/2006 - 08:11 pm Title: suzyluvsspike

damn!
We should also check the dates of when those fics were posted, cause u don't really know which one was actually writen first. I'm not taking anyone's side in this; i personally really, really hate plagiarists, i think it's a lack of respect towards the real author. But there has to be evidence showing that Yung Yin (whatever, sorry lol) wrote that fic first.
This sucks, i can't understand why ppl do this kind of things.

Author's Response: Well, in suzyluvsspike's case, the original fic was started and last updated in 2003, so obviously, her fic came much later after the original was started. Plus, she admittedly was a member on the site where the original is posted and knows of that fandom, so all bets are off that she hadn't seen it before. On top of this, though, her closing down her e-mail account, LJ, and TSR username is a good sign... and she tried to post again under another username two days later, which we found out about after she had lied to us mods and we called her on it :(

Reviewer: TammyAsh666 Anonymous Date: 03/06/2006 - 09:08 pm Title: suzyluvsspike

I noticed that, too. About her copying the note at the bottom. She obviously really couldn't think of anything at all. And not changing all of the names in the story is like she wanted to get caught. I know what it's like to be plagiarized and it's just really sad and pathetic that someone could do that. There has been too many in this site lately, or in any fan fiction site really. Seriously people, get your own damn ideas, or just don't even bother.

Reviewer: jennybean Anonymous Date: 03/06/2006 - 08:14 pm Title: suzyluvsspike

She even copied the author's note at the end of the original story's first chapter. That's really sad.

Reviewer: Nikki Anonymous Date: 03/06/2006 - 11:29 am Title: suzyluvsspike

Things like this just piss me off... I got plagiated once and it made me really sick... of course that "author" didn't have a mailaddy or something *grrr*
Why do people have to do this? Its not so hard to think about an idea for a story...
And let me just say this excuse "I didn't know the other story existed" in the shoutie... that chance is so little, it nearly isn't a possibility at all...
I hope this doesn't happen again...
But thanks for posting and telling us!
Nikki

Reviewer: Mac 1 Anonymous Date: 03/06/2006 - 10:55 am Title: suzyluvsspike

i totally doubt the second story. It's well written and doesn't sound like a Buffy plot to me - too many discrepencies from canon, added to the pliagirized story recently, and I can't just take her word for the new one now.

Reviewer: messy Anonymous Date: 03/06/2006 - 08:45 am Title: suzyluvsspike

I've just noticed that this same author has posted another fic titled Family Ties: do we have to doubt this work too?

Reviewer: Karbear57 Signed Date: 03/06/2006 - 07:34 am Title: suzyluvsspike

Allison,

You did a great job! Thanks for catching this!!!

Last night I read the summary and thought it was a bit weird to have Buffy as a computer scientist (my field) and thought the author was stretching. I read the reviews, but I didn't put two and two together. Now I know.

You ROCK!

Reviewer: Sara M Anonymous Date: 03/06/2006 - 12:59 am Title: suzyluvsspike

What she said.

The thousand word thing was still funny. :-)

Reviewer: Green_Ivy Anonymous Date: 03/06/2006 - 12:49 am Title: suzyluvsspike

I just wanted to say that you have nothing to apologize for .

I personally think that the 1000 word limit worked in your favor

You gave absolute, irrefutable, and damning proof that left absolutely no questions on guilt or innocence.

Your evidence was presented very thoroughly and clearly, I applaud your efforts.

You handled the unfortunate situation very well. Thank you for a job well done.

..Oh and one more thing PLAGIARISTS SUCK ! :))

Reviewer: TammyAsh666 Anonymous Date: 03/06/2006 - 12:29 am Title: suzyluvsspike

I knew it, well not in the sense of actually knowing, but I had a feeling when I kept seeing Usagi and I wondered who that was. God, these people never learn.

Reviewer: Sara M Signed Date: 03/05/2006 - 11:54 pm Title: suzyluvsspike

Okay, first of all, pliagirism sucks.

Second, I think it's hysterical that the 1000 word rule made you post so much of each story. Nothing wrong with the rule, and I appreciate being able to see the side by side versions so clearly, but it still made me laugh.

Third, Purple Eyes!!?? Huh.

Thanks for the heads up.

Reviewer: cordykitten Anonymous Date: 03/05/2006 - 11:24 pm Title: suzyluvsspike

I'm very sorry to hear that. I read the first chapter and like it *sigh*. But no wonder it wasn't familiar to me when it wasn't a spuffy story that got plagiarized. I'm very sorry to see this happen again. Why does everybody think nobody will notice it if they does?

Reviewer: spufette Anonymous Date: 03/05/2006 - 11:01 pm Title: suzyluvsspike

Oh dear.
This just makes me sad.
I'm so sorry to see this happen yet again.
spufette